A Brownie for Dark Chocolate Lovers

The other night after eating a dinner of sparse leftovers I decided I needed to make brownies.  I didn’t have my mother’s recipe and we didn’t have any butter, fortunately there are many brownie recipes that only call for oil.  With that in mind I did a little searching online but was left disappointed. Eventually I chose an unsatifactory recipe and  modified it until it was what I wanted (you only have to change three things in a recipe to make it yours!), then I put it in the oven and hoped for the best.  What I ended up with was a dense chewy brownie for real chocolate lovers.  If you don’t like dark chocolate this recipe isn’t for you, but if you love dark and chewy then enjoy!

photo

A Brownie for Dark Chocolate Lovers

  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 egg yolks (lightly beaten)
  • 1/4 cup hot water
  • 1/3 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened chocolate squares, finely chopped (I used part of a World Market brand 99% cacao chocolate bar)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease 8×6 inch pan

2. Whisk together cocoa powder, flour, baking soda, sugar and salt  in a medium bowl

3. Add wet ingredients to bowl and stir minimally until incorporated

4. Toss in nuts and chopped chocolate, stir one last time

5. Spread batter into prepared pan

6.  Bake in preheated oven for 35 to 40 min., allow to cook before cutting

Because they are so dark they lend themselves to a good vanilla ice cream, may I suggest Breyers.

-Enjoy

Leave a comment